The New School for Music Study

Calendar

2016-2017 School Year

  • Welcome Night Open House Thurs, Sept 1, 4:00-7:00 p.m.
    • Information meetings at 5:30 and 6:30, “Meet the Piano” concert at 6:00
  • Private Lessons begin: Tues, Sept 6
  • Repertoire Classes and PEPS Rotations begin: Mon, Sept 12
  • NSMS Faculty Recital: Sun, Sept 18 at 2:30 p.m. (Nassau Presbyterian Church)
    • All Chopin
  • Parents Observation Week: Mon, Oct 17-Sat, Oct 22
  • NSMS Faculty Recital: Sun, Nov 20 at 2:30 p.m. (Nassau Presbyterian Church)
    • Celebrating 2016
  • Thanksgiving Vacation Tues, Nov 22 thru Sun, Nov 27
  • Holiday Concert: Sat, Dec 3 (location and time TBA)
  • Parents Classes begin: Mon, Dec. 5-Sat, Dec. 17
    • Monthly classes do not have Parents Classes
  • Winter Vacation Tues, Dec. 20, Sun, Jan. 1
  • Lessons Resume: Mon, Jan 2, 2016
    • Classes and lessons are held on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Mon, Jan 16, and on Presidents Day, Mon, Feb 20
  • Faculty Recital: Sun, February 19 at 2:30 pm (Nassau Presbyterian Church)
    • French Music
  • Piano Progressions Mon, Mar 6 thru Fri, Mar 10
    • No regularly schedule private lessons and repertoire classes this week
  • Spring Vacation: Mon, April 9 thru Sun, April 16
  • Lessons and Classes Resume: Mon, April 17
  • NSMS Full Faculty Recital, Sun, April 23 at 2:30 pm (Nassau Pres. Church)
    • Programatic music for students and virtuoso pianists
  • Deadline for Recital Conflict Notification and Composition Contest Sun, Apr 29
  • Music Development Program Fri, May 12-Mon, May 16
  • Memorial Day Holiday Mon, May 29
  • NSMS Spring Recital Series: Sat, June 3 (1:00, 3:00, 5:00, 7:30), and Sun, June 4 (2:00, 4:00), First Presbyterian Church at Dayton
  • PEPS Recitals Sun Jun 25 1:00 (JR PEPS), 3:00 (PEPS)
  • Classes and Lessons End Sat, July 1
  • Summer Camps and Lessons, July and August

 

*Piano Progressions

Piano Progressions is an opportunity to assess how each student is progressing in multiple areas of musical development. During this week, all students will meet with a faculty panel and demonstrate a variety of skills that has been reinforced during their lessons and classes. Parents will be informed of their students progress based on our school-wide curriculum.

**Spring Recitals

Our Spring Recital Series will be scheduled for late May or early June. All students are expected to participate in the spring recital series with the exception of these students:

  • Students beginning instruction after December 2013
  • Students not participating in group study or meeting the minimum class attendance expectations

Each family will receive information regarding these recitals during the month of March. After this notification, please inform the New School of any possible conflicts during the scheduled dates. There is a mandatory dress rehearsal that will precede your scheduled recital date.

***Music Development Program

The Royal Conservatory Music Development Program is optional for students at the New School. This national program offers yearly assessments in all aspects of music study including academics and performance. For more information visit the Music Development Program and speak with your child’s private teacher.